Search

The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa Book Review

Updated: Jan 21, 2021


The Worst Best Man

by Mia Sosa

Published by Avon


Critically acclaimed author Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy about a woman whose new job requires her to work side-by-side with the best man who ruined her wedding: her ex-fiancé's infuriating, irritating, annoyingly handsome brother. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!


A wedding planner left at the altar. Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s managed to make other people’s dreams come true as a top-tier wedding coordinator in DC. After impressing an influential guest, she’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.


Tired of living in his older brother’s shadow, marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.


If they can survive the next few weeks and nail their presentation without killing each other, they’ll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina’s ready to dish out a little payback of her own.


But even the best laid plans can go awry, and soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again...


RATED: 18+ CATEGORY: MOOD:

Steamy Rom-Com Feel Good



The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa was a goodreads suggestion for me, and the first time I have read anything from Mia Sosa. I have to say, Goodreads does an awesome job with recommendations, because I LOVED this book. Finished it in a day!


There were many reasons why I loved this book. The romance was superb. Perfection, really. While one could argue that this was your classic enemy to lover type romance, I can only partially agree. The unique perspective of Max being the brother of her ex-fiance, the man who allegedly talks his brother out of the marriage the night before the wedding, gave her a valid reason to dislike him, and him a valid reason to want to make it up to her. Their chemistry from the start was OFF THE CHARTS, and throughout the book, the hilarious situations they got themselves in made an already awesome story some laughs. It is a classic rom-com, with INSANELY hot sex thrown in. Other things I loved: the Brazilian culture, and a different family dynamic.


Not only was the story amazing, but the characters were too. Lina and Max had a lot of depth to their characters, but their backstories were no overbearing. We got to know just enough to learn what makes them tick. Lina was a great female lead. Successful, driven, confidant, intelligent and witty, it's easy to see why Max falls for her. Speaking of Max, he could easily become my new book boyfriend. Sweet, funny, smart and kind. He could have easily ratted Lina out, and refuse to work with her after she started to prank him ... but he isn't that kind of guy. Their conversations with one another are hilarious, and add to a lot of laughs.


Seriously. I laughed A LOT!


The other characters were great too. Lina's crazy family was just amazing, and