Search

Once Kissed by Cecy Robson Book Review

Updated: Jan 21, 2021


Once Kissed

by Cecy Robson

Published by Loveswept

Book #1 in the O'Brien Family Series


Once they shared a night of passion.


Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering. Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office... until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect — but not touch. Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform. Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.


RATED: 18+ CATEGORY: MOOD:

Steamy Romance Feel Good



Once Kissed is the first book in the O'Brien Family series, and is a spin-off from Cecy Robson's Shattered Past series. This series is all about the remaining O'Brien's (Killian's crazy Irish family we fell in love with in Once Pure), finding love. Once Kissed centers on Curran O'Brien, a police officer who is dealing with PTSD after watching a rookie almost die in front of him. In order for him to prove that he is ready to get back on the force, he is assigned to protect Contessa (Tess) Newart, his brother Declan's intern for a major case against a mob family. But when they recognize each other as a wild one night stand they had back in college, their attraction quickly grows into much more.


I just had to read this series. I fell in LOVE with the O'Brien's in Once Pure. They were one of the highlights of the novel. So when I found out there was a whole series dedicated to them, I just HAD to read it. With this first one, Once Kissed, I am not disappointed. First of all, I finished it in a day. Once I started reading it, I had a hard time putting it down. Not only was Curran's and Tess's individual struggles interesting, but their relationship and chemistry drew me in. If you like steamy romances, Once Kissed has plenty of steam. I can't forget to talk about how funny it is. There were several times I laughed out loud for a good minute or two.


Curran is a fun read, due to his sense of humor, and general sweetness. His family may rip on him a bit for being a player, but he is a good guy. His struggles with PTSD were written realistically, and while an important part of his story, didn't override it. Much like Tess with her struggles of constant abuse from her father. She was easy to sympathize with, and I appreciate Cecy Robson making more readers aware of different types of abuse, and what this kind of abuse does to a person.


If you like romance, sex, and a well-written story that will make you laugh at some parts, and cry, you have to read this book. The characters were easy to fall for, and the story doesn't drag at any point. You won't regret reading this novel. I promise.